Mostviertel (cider district) is the term used to describe the area in the south west of Lower Austria.


The name comes from 'Most', the German expression for the fermented juice of pressed pears and apples (cider). The fruits that form the basis for this fruit wine come from the countless pear and apple trees which grow along many of the roads in this area. Mighty square farmhouses are evidence of the former importance and the wealth of the region's farmers.

blossom in the Mostviertel

This is also the district where St Pölten, the capital of Niederösterreich, is located. In 1997, the Landhaus-district, which houses not only Niederösterreich´s main political and administrative institutions but also the Provincial library, the Sched-Art Gallery and the region´s leading theatre, was opened. The provincial museum, designed by Professor Hans Hollein, one of  Austria´s most famous architects living, opened in 2002.

governmental area in St. Pölten

The capital of Lower Austria is not only the largest town in the province but also an ecclesiastical centre and a bishopric. Countless baroque buildings in the town center hark back to the crucial importance of the town in the 18th century.

smithy in Waidhofen

Eisenstraße ("The Iron Road")

Lunzer See

Lunz also makes an excellent starting point for walks in the nearby Ötscher-Tormäuer/Dürrenstein nature park. The Ötscher is the central peak of the Eisenwurzen, the massif which gives the area its name. The natural park has a high-alpine character and is a popular area for hiking and winter sports. At the same time, the park is Austria's biggest mountain torrent reserve and a challenge to potholers. Recent years have also seen the successful reintroduction of brown bears into the region.A further attraction is a trip on the nostalgic Mariazeller railway. This old narrow-gauge railway runs from St Pölten to Mariazell, a romantic place of pilgrimage in Styria.

Please contact us

Office of the Federal Government of Lower Austria
International & European Affairs
Landhausplatz 1, Haus 3 3109 St. Pölten Email:
Tel.: 02742/9005 - 13489
Fax: 02742/9005 - 13610
Letzte Änderung dieser Seite: 14.6.2019
© 2019 Amt der NÖ Landesregierung