The Industrieviertel (industry district) south of Vienna is the economic heart of Lower Austria


The Industrieviertel (industry district) south of Vienna is, as the name suggests, the economic heart of Lower Austria. Its proximity to Vienna and the adjoining states of the former Eastern Block coupled with the well-developed infrastructure have enabled one of the most dynamic economic regions in Austria to emerge. However, the region is also known for its picturesque towns along the 'Thermenlinie', a geological fault line whose hot thermal springs have given rise to a spa culture.

a walk in the town

The 'Bucklige Welt' area, as well as the 'Wienerwald' region, the 'Semmering-Rax' area and the Roman excavations at Carnuntum at the Danube are little known to tourists but offer delightful sceneries.

Wiener Neustadt is the main town in the region and was of crucial importance as early as the 15th century when it was the residence of the Emperor. Thanks to the arrival of countless manufacturers from the end of the 18th century onwards, the town developed into an important industrial center. Many buildings from the Roman, Gothic and Baroque periods testify to the importance of Wiener Neustadt over the centuries.

Town of Wiener Neustadt

The charming small town of Baden lies surrounded by vineyards at the foot of the Wienerwald. Traces of the 19th century Biedermeier period can still be felt in Baden, where the broad parks and gardens invite visitors to linger awhile. The town of 'gardens and roses' is also a town of 'water' whose thermal springs were known as long ago as Roman times. Baden has grown into an international conference venue over recent years and can boast one of the finest casinos in Austria.

Casino Baden

Municipality of Baden 
However, not only Baden, but also Bad Vöslau and Bad Fischau, can boast sulphurous thermal springs and utterly bewitching open air baths and pools dating from the end of the 19th century.

Citynet Bad Vöslau
To the west of Vienna, running north to south, are the Woods of Vienna or 'Wienerwald' , the capital´s green lung and marvellous recreational area. Outstanding places to visit include the 'Helenental' and Mayerling,  the former castle of Crown Prince Rudolf who died under mysterious circumstances. To the south, the Semmering borders the Industrieviertel. This mountain-massif a mere hour from Vienna by car  is a delightful area for recreation, hiking and winter sports thanks to its impressive alpine scenery. During the final phase of the Habsburg monarchy many intellectuals, artists and aristocrats used to spend their holidays there and their legacy is still visible in the many villas from the turn of the 19th century.


The construction of the Semmering railway by Karl Ritter von Ghega opened up the area for Viennese high society in the middle of the 19th century - the profile of the alignment of the Semmering railway, which has been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, is quite spectacular, running along wooded mountain slopes and through tunnels and arches and over daring viaducts.

Carnuntum in Bad Deutsch-Altenburg

To the north, the Danube borders the Industrieviertel; along its banks, Carnuntum is worth a mention as it was the most important Roman settlement in Austria. In addition to a legion's camp, this 'Pompeii of Austria' contained an amphitheatre which could hold 8,000 people. The Carnuntum archaeological park is to be found at Bad Deutsch-Altenburg, close to the Slovakian border, which has been a famed bathing and spa resort since the monarchy.

Archeological Site Carnuntum
A little further down the Danube lies Hainburg, a picturesque little town which forms a good starting point for a trip into the Donau-Auen National Park on the opposite side of the river. From here it is but a short drive to Bratislava, the Slovakian capital, a few kilometres further down the Danube.

Please contact us

Office of the Federal Government of Lower Austria
International & European Affairs
Landhausplatz 1, Haus 3 3109 St. Pölten E-Mail:
Tel.: 02742/9005 - 13489
Fax: 02742/9005 - 13610
Letzte Änderung dieser Seite: 14.6.2019
© 2019 Amt der NÖ Landesregierung